RIP Glenn Frey of the Eagles

Glenn FreyI was saddened to hear that Glenn Frey passed today at the age of 67, which doesn’t seem very old at all.  I was also surprised to hear that he had rheumatoid arthritis and ulcerative colitis – two conditions that I also happen to suffer from.  It reminded me that life is fleeting and you never know what germ may have your name on it.

I’ve been a huge fan of the Eagles since I was in high school many moons ago.  In my high school theater class I sang ‘Desperado’ a cappella – one of the few times I’ve wished that cell phones existed back then.  I can’t count the number of times I heard one of their songs at school dances, nor can I remember how many times I played their cassettes in my old Caddy (aka Beulah).  I think every teenager I hung out with knew all of the lyrics to ‘Hotel California’.

It has been a hard beginning of the new year losing talented musicians.  I hope that there is one heck of a concert going on up in heaven right now.

RIP Glenn

Desperado – YouTube

Glen Frey After Hours Tour

Leave a Reply

