Jack Gets His Man by D.E. Haggerty – Romantic Comedy – Book Review

Jack Gets His Man Cover

Jack Gets His Man

Series: The Gray-Haired Knitting Detectives, Book 2

Genre: Romantic Comedy (M/M)

Published: July 1, 2015

My Review:

Jack Gets His Man is the second book in the “Gray Haired Knitting Detective Series” by D.E. Haggerty.  I read and reviewed the first book in the series, “Murder, Mystery, & Dating Mayhem”, and was happy to have the chance to review this new book by the author.

The main characters are back, but this new book is told from the point of view of a sub-character from the first book, Jack.  Jack is the co-owner of a unique store that caters to cross-dressers and plus-sized women.  When his store manager has a melt-down, a new book keeper is hired to lighten the work load.  Unfortunately, the new book keeper discovers some huge accounting discrepancies, and there the mystery ensues.  In addition to the mystery, Jack has relationship troubles that threaten to bubble over at work.  His ex-business partner and love interest appears to be emotionally unstable, which makes his new book keeper all the more attractive.  This makes for more than a few awkward moments throughout the story.

The “gray haired detectives” are back, which I’m happy to say are in their usual rare form.  There is nothing feeble about them and they use their skills to do recon missions, perform accounting audits, and get in a little bit of trouble with the local police.  In their spare time they play matchmaker to the single people in their church, whether or not the poor souls want any help.  I’d like to learn more about the gray haired gals individually, and hopefully these characters will be explored a little more in future books.

Overall, this book was a great, light, summer read.  I enjoyed the characters, which for me included wanting to smack a few of them around.  I’m not sure if this new love interest between Jack and his new book keeper, Damien, will last, but they seem to be off to a good start.  Jack may have gotten his man, but will he be able to keep him?  I guess I’ll have to wait until the next book in the series to find out.

As a side note, this is a standalone book, and the first book doesn’t have to be read in order to follow the story.

I rated this book 5 out of 5.  I would recommend this book to mystery fans who enjoy a quick read with a little romance thrown in.

Synopsis:

Jack’s life is awesome. His store is making money hand over fist and his best friend has found love. So what if he’s feeling a bit restless and put out about his upcoming birthday and his ex is being a pain in his fabulous behind? That’s nothing he can’t handle. But then his smoking hot new bookkeeper discovers things at the store aren’t actually as they seem. Someone is playing fast and loose with the finances. Jack’s bestie and his gal pals, the gray-haired knitting detectives, jump at the chance to solve Jack’s problems. When they aren’t re-enacting scenes from spy thrillers, they’re setting Jack up on dates and generally insinuating themselves into his love life. They’re determined to find love for Jack as well as his missing money. Will Jack catch a thief or find love? Either way Jack’s going to get his man.

Buy links:

Amazon:  Jack Gets His Man

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25552260-jack-gets-his-man

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/551332

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1122163358?ean=2940151977913

DE Haggerty

Author bio:

I was born and raised in Wisconsin, but think I’m a European. After spending my senior year of high school in Germany, I developed a bad case of wanderlust that is yet to be cured. My flying Dutch husband and I have lived in Ohio, Virginia, the Netherlands, Germany and now Istanbul. We still haven’t decided if we want to settle down somewhere – let alone where. I’m leaning towards somewhere I can learn to surf even though the hubby thinks that’s a less than sound way to decide where to live. Although I’ve been a military policewoman, a commercial lawyer, and a B&B owner, I think with writing I may have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up. That’s assuming I ever grow up, of course. Between playing tennis, running much slower than I would like, trying to adopt every stray dog within a 5-mile radius, traveling to exotic new locales, singing off tune, drinking entirely too many adult beverages, addictively watching new movies and reading books like they are going out of style, I write articles for a local expat magazine and various websites, review other indie authors’ books, write a blog about whatever comes to mind and am working on my sixth book.

Author links:

Website: http://www.dehaggerty.com

Blog: http://www.dehaggerty.com/mymusings

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dehaggerty

Twitter: https://twitter.com/denaehaggerty

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/+DEHaggerty/posts

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/denahaggerty/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7210211.D_E_Haggerty

Email: dena@dehaggerty.com

2 thoughts on “Jack Gets His Man by D.E. Haggerty – Romantic Comedy – Book Review

  1. Thanks for taking the time to not only read Jack but write a review as well. I’m so happy you enjoyed the story. I will definitely take your comment about wanting more information about the gray-haired ladies into consideration as I write the next book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

