Why I Participate in NaNoWriMo

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere is something about NaNoWriMo that gets me going with my writing.  I look forward to the beginning of each one, whether it is a Camp NaNoWriMo or the National Novel Writing Month in November.

For me, it is the thrill of beginning a new writing project and knowing that I have 30 days in which to create something from start to finish.  Of course it is a rough draft, not a finished product ready for a bookshelf.  It is a complete draft though, and that is what counts.

On April 1st Camp NaNoWriMo begins; round one of the three scheduled in 2015.  I’m waiting with the giddy anticipation of a child on Christmas Eve.  I have my project picked out, an outline, and several characters on the roster that have been pestering me to write about them since spring arrived.

If you have ever wanted to jump start a project that you have put on the back burner, Camp NaNoWriMo may be right for you.  You can choose how much to write (50K is only required in November), and there are plenty of folks who are waiting to be your support system on the website.  Sign up by March 20 to get in on a cabin assignment- should you want cabin mates to share the month with.

Visit Camp NaNoWriMo to sign up and learn more!

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

Leave a Reply

