Book Review: Murder, Mystery and Dating Mayhem by D.E. Haggerty

24787493If you are a fan of Victoria Laurie or Janet Evanovich, you’ll probably enjoy this book. The writer has a conversational tone and the main character, Izzy, has an inner monologue that is humorous all the way through the story.

Without giving too much away, Izzy and her best guy-pal Jack are trying to figure out who wanted to kill her “grandmother” (in actuality she is the grandmother of her dear departed husband). Izzy is unable to stop searching for the person responsible for the evil deed; she is like a bulldog once she gets an idea in her head. Someone is going to be brought to justice, come hell or high water.

In the midst of this murder mystery, another character emerges – a love interest for Izzy. Noel is everything she seems to want in a man, and as a bonus, he is a cop. Unfortunately, she doesn’t feel ready to be in a relationship and lacks confidence (especially when wearing high heels).

My favorite parts of the book, however, were scenes involving the Ben-Gay gang, which consists of little old ladies that were friends of her grandmother. Just like the television character Jessica Fletcher from Murder She Wrote, they become amateur detectives in order to find out who killed their knitting buddy.

I thoroughly enjoyed Murder, Mystery, & Dating Mayhem, and would be interested in reading a sequel if there were to be one.  This story is worth reading for the Ben-Gay gang alone!

I gave this book 5 out of 5 Stars.  I was given a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Buy Link:  Amazon

Author Bio

DE Haggerty

I was born and raised in Wisconsin but think I’m a European. After spending my senior year of high school in Germany, I developed a bad case of wanderlust that is yet to be cured. After high school I returned to the U.S. to go to college ending up with a Bachelor’s degree in History at the tender age of twenty while still managing to spend time bouncing back and forth to Europe during vacations. Unable to find a job after college and still suffering from wanderlust, I joined the U.S. Army as a Military Policewoman for five years. While stationed in Heidelberg, Germany, I met my future husband, a flying – literally – Dutchman. After being given my freedom from the Army, I went off to law school. I finished law school and moved to the Netherlands with my husband and became a commercial lawyer for more than a decade. During a six-month break from the lawyering world, I wrote my first book, Unforeseen Consequences. Although I finished the book, I went back to the law until I could no longer take it and upped stakes and moved to Germany to start a B&B.

Three years after starting the B&B, I got the itch to try something new and decided to pull the manuscript for Unforeseen Consequences out of the attic and get it published as an e-book. Deciding that I may have indeed finally found what I want to do with my life, I went on to write Buried Appearances. After moving to Istanbul, I wrote Life Discarded. Feeling pressured by my girlfriends to write a chick lit novel, I tried my hand at humor with Murder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem. Between tennis, running, traveling, singing off tune, drinking entirely too many adult drinks, and reading books like they are going out of style, I write articles for a local expat magazine and various websites, review other indie authors’ books, write a blog about whatever comes to mind and am working on my fifth book.

murder-mystery-and-dating-mayhem-banner

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Murder, Mystery and Dating Mayhem by D.E. Haggerty

  1. Pingback: Humorous Chick lit Book Tour & Giveaway: Murder, Mystery & Dating Mayhem by D.E. Haggerty 3/2/15 – 3/16/15 | Fire and Ice Book Tours

Leave a Reply

