Friday the 19th

MESSY REALITY

The day after the Scottish independence referendum was a wild one in Glasgow. I happened by accident to witness some of the extraordinary scenes, and it’s taken me a while to write them down and share them. But I think Friday 19th September 2014 is still a day with relevant things we need to think about seven weeks later.

I’ll state up front what I believe I saw: an organised riot, an assault that desired to punish a city that voted Yes. It’s up to you whether you believe my version of events or not, I can only tell you what I and those I was with saw.

Two immediate prompts moved me to write this. One was when friends visited me here in the Netherlands from Scotland, and had no idea what had happened in the streets of our largest city that night, because it had gone unreported or…

View original post 4,911 more words

Leave a Reply

