For Authors: on characters with convictions

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

A conviction to put family first or to protect home is only one positive kind of conviction our characters might share with us A conviction to put family first or to protect home is only one positive kind of conviction our characters might display

I’ve been writing lately about emotions and their role in fiction as part of character development. One emotional state that is important in fiction (at least to me, when I read) is conviction. If there is one thing I cannot stand, it is a wishy-washy character who cannot make up his or her mind about basic things.

You’re likely familiar with the adage, “If you don’t stand for something, you’ll for anything.” It’s an adage for a reason. Now, maybe I don’t like characters who are wishy-washy (especially as protagonists) because they remind me of my own frailty and weakness. I don’t generally find it easy to commit or to make a big decision. Whatever the case, I find I most enjoy reading about characters who are sure of…

View original post 623 more words

Leave a Reply

