Nose to the Grindstone? Don’t Forget to Stop and Smell the Roses Too!

Roses After you forgive me for the above title today, let me explain. I’ve spent the last few months writing, and then writing some more. I’ve ignored my friends, family, and my dog as well (though my dog is more forgiving). I’ve been so driven to finish five different projects that everything else has fallen by the wayside. The dishes were piled high in the sink, the dog was never fully brushed out nor flea dipped, my teenagers were left to their own devices (technological, that is), and my husband says I’m so pale that he confused me for a ghost.

Does this sound like you too? I’m sure that I’m not the only one who is carried away writing about different worlds and characters. They’re just so darn interesting to me that I lose myself in the stories I’m creating. I have to know what is going to happen next!

What changed this for me? My health. On my last doctor’s visit I found out that I have a severe vitamin D deficiency. I’m not getting enough sunshine, and without enough vitamin D in your system, things can go wrong rather quickly. I won’t go into details as you can easily read up on it yourself. What I can say is that keeping your nose to the grindstone isn’t always a good thing.

I’ve taken some steps to improve my health, though it is baby steps for now. I’m writing on my front porch. I have a nice table for my laptop, a large mug of coffee, and several cats on and under my porch swing. I’ve surrounded myself with fluffy pillows and a wide variety of topical plants and hanging flower pots, so I feel as if I’m in a tropical oasis. (Hey, don’t judge! At least I’m where some sun can actually touch my skin!)

I don’t think I can ever stop writing cold turkey, even if my health was in dire straits. Writing each day is as much a part of me as breathing is. I’ll probably be found some day, passed on to my great reward, with my head down on my keyboard.

Until that happens, I’m going to try and get out to smell the roses, so to speak, each day. After all, it provides fodder for my next project.

And… I’m off again with another story idea… something about a tropical oasis…with cats…

Leave a Reply

