Virtual Book Tours – Are They for You?

Until a few months ago, I had never heard of virtual book tours.  When I heard another author mention them, I thought they were being sarcastic, since most book signings and tours I’ve heard of take place in book stores or libraries. 

What I found out is that they are a great way to promote a new book, or even an existing one that has lagging sales.  The book you have written may be wonderful, bu if no one knows about it, how will you get people to buy it?

No single marketing strategy is ever enough, but a virtual book tour may help to spread the word about your book.  Instead of hauling your cookies to book stores and libraries around the country, you may speak to your audience through book bloggers around the globe.  These tours can be booked through a variety of sources, and the cost is low compared to what it would cost traveling around promoting your book.  (Traveling wasn’t a viable option for me, since I have a disability that keeps me at home most of the time).

The length of your book tour is up to you, but most range from a few days to a month.  Options include doing interviews, requesting reviews, and doing book giveaways, all of which are entirely up to you.

My tour starts October 30th and will end on November 13, 2013.  I’ll keep everyone updated on my progress, and at the end I write about my experiences – both the good, and the bad.  Hopefully, there won’t be anything bad to report!  In the meantime, I’ll be spending my Sunday gathering items for the media kit my tour manager is creating for me. 

Leave a Reply

