I Dream of Zombies – Thanks to Camp NaNoWriMo

Image

I’ve almost completed the draft of my new book, I Dream of Zombies.  For anyone who may think “Oh God, not another zombie book!” don’t worry – it isn’t.  While it is about zombies, it isn’t about doom, gloom and the eating of brains.  Rather it is a crazy romp through the life of a zombie social worker who is trying her best to keep her clients mentally and physically in one piece after the zombie apocalypse.  It has the elements of a mystery and a thriller, with just a dash of romance thrown in.

If it hadn’t been for Camp NaNoWriMo, I probably wouldn’t have gotten anywhere near to completing it.  I probably would have done what I always do – write a book 3/4 of the way through and then chase another story idea that I developed along the way.  I can’t tell you how many books I’ve started in the past year (not to mention the two or three I came up with while writing I Dream of Zombies!).

What I’ve learned from Camp NaNoWriMo is that it is okay to just write and not edit constantly.  This is a hard concept for me since that has always been part of my previous jobs.  It has given me the freedom to write like a maniac and throw caution to the wind.  I’ve also learned to just jot down my story ideas for the next book then shelve it so I could focus on writing my novel in a month.

If you’ve had an idea for a novel or screen play and you’ve been ignoring it for a while, the next NaNoWriMo begins in November.  For the uninitiated, it stands for National Novel Writing Month.  You don’t have to start from scratch, you just have to start.  Check it out here:  NaNoWriMo.org.

Leave a Reply

