Bringing Characters Back to Life

For my followers, I apologize for being away for so long. I’ve been caring for a family member who has become disabled, but only temporarily so. She has gotten the go-ahead to start putting weight on her leg again, so it is only a matter of time before she is out and about, not needing assistance any more!

I’ve had to temporarily shelve some of my books in progress so that I didn’t spread myself too thin. Even those of us with A-type personalities need to take stock and prioritize what is truly important once in a while. With that being said, I’m easing myself back into writing my stories and reacquainting myself with all of my characters.

I recently read that if you only write a few times a week that your characters won’t seem as developed as they could be if you wrote every day. I think that may be true, as some of the characters I “abandoned” back in November aren’t as “alive” as they had been before. There is probably a lot of work for me to do over the next few months if I intend to have another book in print before Christmas 2013!

I would like to hear from others who have neglected characters and books for a period of time, as well as those who only write sporadically. How are your characters faring? Did you scrap them and start all over again, or were you able to bring them back to life?

One thought on “Bringing Characters Back to Life

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention
    that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your
    rss feed and I hope you write once more soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

