Self Published Book to Audio Book – What is the Best Method?

I’ve been toying with the idea of doing an audio book version of my self published book. I’ve been doing voice overs for a while now, however, I’m not sure about doing an audio book for my readers. There are various places on the Internet to do this, which all seem to have different formats that they want the recording done in. They also have differing “rules” on how they want the recording done, with intros and the like.

What I would like to know from readers is: 1)Have you done your own recording for an audio book, 2)What did you use for recording software (audicity, etc), and 3)What company/website did you use to upload and “process” your recording to make it available for sale.

I would love to hear from anyone who has done this, and what success or failure they had with this format. As a disabled person, I recognize the need for audio books, and would like to offer this format for my readers.

Leave a Reply

