Kindle versus Nook and iPad for EPUBs

I’m sure that I’m not the only author who has struggled a little with creating EPUB files.   I’ve created several versions because each distributor wants different things when it comes to these files.  Some demand ToCs (Table of Contents), while others, like Kindle, are happy with books not having, or not having, a ToC.

In my opinion, a ToC isn’t always needed, at least with fiction books.  For example, as I’m reading a fiction book on my Kindle I can bookmark pages, and my place is “saved” when I close the cover.  Since users can change the size of the font, page numbers don’t apply anyway.

I can see someone wanting to be able to hop chapters if they are reading a non-fiction book and want to jump ahead to information that they are the most interested in.  However, when it comes to fiction books, unless you know what you’re looking for, why would you jump ahead? (Okay, I know there are some people who skip ahead to the last chapter).  I’m not sure how creating a ToC for a fiction book on an e-reader makes for a better user experience, but if someone wants to volunteer the information, I’d be happy to listen.

In the mean time, I’m switching my recent book, Murder in Middleton to Amazon’s KDP select program for the next 90 days.  Maybe in the interim I’ll add a ToC to my book for distribution again on Nook and iPad.   If you own a Kindle, you can now borrow my book for free in the lending library!

Now I know why authors hire others to do formatting for them!

Leave a Reply

